Ruth Buxton Sayre Scholarship

Ruth Buxton Sayre was known as the “First Lady of the Farm” and inspired millions of rural women around the world to improve themselves and their communities with her practicality, humor, decency, and common sense. As a young farm mother, she began her life work in striving for better conditions for farm women and their families by organizing her neighbors for college extension classes. She earned high posts in state, national and international organizations and served as ACWW President from 1947-1953.

Country Women’s Council USA, offers a Ruth B. Sayre Memorial Scholarship each year to a woman who is a legal resident of the USA, who shows a financial need, and who has the ability to complete her education.

Application with attachments must be submitted, reviewed, and signed by the state society president/chairman of the affiliated ACWW/CWC society FROM YOUR STATE. See list of societies.

The Scholarship recipient or recipients shall be paid up to the amount of $500 for a year’s period of study, the money to be sent to the educational institution she is attending for tuition and/or books. The recipients may apply the succeeding year.

Donations are accepted for the furtherance of educational development of American women.
The scholarship winner names will be posted here after June 1.

Download Ruth Buxton Sayre Brochure (revised April 2020)

Download Ruth Buxton Sayre Scholarship Form (updated Janaury 2022)

2023 Ruth Buxton Sayre Scholarship Winners
Hailey Chaffin
– New Hope, AL – University of Alabama, Birmingham – Nursing
Emma Humphreys – Columbus Junction, IA – Iowa State University – Agricultural Communications
Jada Long – Evansville, IL – Maryville University – Nursing
Brinley J. Meier – Waverly, IA – Hawkeye Community College – Dental Hygienist

Ruth Buxton Sayre Donation Form